The Smiths The Queen Is Dead Lyrics

The Smiths The Queen Is Dead album cover

Released in 1986, The Smiths’ third studio album “The Queen Is Dead” is considered one of the greatest albums of all time. The album’s lyrics, written by the band’s frontman Morrissey, are known for their poetic, introspective, and often melancholic nature.

Track Listing

The Queen Is Dead track listing

The album consists of 10 tracks, each with its own distinct sound and style. The opening track, “The Queen Is Dead”, sets the tone for the rest of the album with its political commentary and biting lyrics. Other standout tracks include “Bigmouth Strikes Again”, “Cemetery Gates”, and “There Is A Light That Never Goes Out”.

The Lyrics

The Smiths Morrissey lyrics

As with all of The Smiths’ albums, the lyrics on “The Queen Is Dead” are a major focus. Morrissey’s lyrics are known for their wit, intelligence, and emotional depth. The album touches on themes such as love, death, loneliness, and politics, and Morrissey’s unique perspective gives each song a distinctive feel.

The Legacy

The Smiths performance

“The Queen Is Dead” has had a lasting impact on music and culture. The album has been cited as an influence by countless artists, and its themes and message continue to resonate with listeners today. The Smiths’ legacy as one of the most important bands of the 80s and 90s is cemented by this timeless classic.


“The Queen Is Dead” is not just an album, it’s a work of art. From the lyrics to the instrumentation, every aspect of the album is carefully crafted and thoughtfully executed. It’s no wonder that the album continues to captivate audiences over 30 years after its initial release.

Related video of The Smiths The Queen Is Dead Lyrics: A Timeless Classic